SouthWEst region

The Southwest region of the United States is characterized by Spanish influence (a greater number of Mexican Americans) as well as Native Americans. The climate is generally warmer although there is snow on higher elevations. Deserts full of cacti, huge canyons, and National Parks provide scenic opportunities. States included in the South West Region are Oklahoma, Arizona, New Mexico and Texas.